Jen: On standing up, and letting go

I recently detoxed my life of my ex-boyfriend and one of my closest friends of 16 years for together hurting me more profoundly, more viscerally, than anyone ever has before.

It’s incredibly sad because I loved them both but supported by wonderful, inspirational people who share my values I am daily finding the courage to stand up for myself, for happiness and for my definition of love. So when a friend sent me this today, it felt very apt:

who stays

It’s not always easy, but I have learned that happiness takes discipline and that championing love means focussing my energy on the many wonderful people who lift me up, not on the few who bring me down and who do not deserve my heart or my headspace.

And if love attracts love and happiness, happiness, then this painful experience – which has re-inspired my determination to nurture both with integrity – will have been for a reason. A good reason.

Pssst, did you know you can follow Beau Dacious on Facebook? Like us.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

